Sudden Landscapes

for organ and orchestra
Year of composition:
3333 4331 3perc timp harp pno organ strings
35 min
Commissioned by:
Stavanger Symfoniorkester
Supported by:
Norsk kulturråd
2016-09-15, Stavanger Konserthus

excerpt 1 - the start

excerpt 2

excerpt 3

excerpt 4

excerpt 5

the whole piece

Sudden Landscapes was planned as an organ concerto, but evolved to something more like a large-scale symphonic painting where the organ and the orchestra continuously exchange sounds and blend in different ways. The piece is conceived as an uninterrupted series of 30 scenes.

Score and parts will be available from NB noter.


[This piece was originally scheduled to be premiered in 2014. On March 2014, Part 1 was performed, as the whole piece was not finished. Christian Vasquez conducted Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, and Nils Henrik Asheim played the organ part. This Part 1 no longer exists as a separate piece, as it is replaced by the work in full length.]