Title Trout
Description collaborative work for a dance performance
Year 2008
Instrumentation 6-channel loudspeaker system, contact microphone system, computer, trumpet, vocals, percussion
Duration 1 hour
Commissioned by Stavanger2008, European Capital of Culture
Premiere June 16, 2008, Tou Scene


A project of Kitchen Orchestra.

Inbal Pinto and Avshalom Pollak Dance Company were in residence during Stavanger2008, European Capital of Culture. The residence lasted for 1 month at Tou Scene and the result was "Trout", a piece where the Stavanger-based musician collective Kitchen Orchestra was responsible for the music. The music and dance were created together during this residency period.

The 5 musicians from Kitchen Orchestra taking part in this project were: Stine Janvin Motland (vocals), Didrik Ingvaldsen (trumpet), Ståle Liavik Solberg (drums), Dag Egil Njaa (electronics) and Nils Henrik Asheim (composition and software programming).

The piece was repeated in Tel Aviv in December 2009 to nine sold-out houses.