Title Concerto Grosso
Description for 22 string players
Year 2010
Instrumentation 2 string quartets, 8 violins, 5 celli, 1 bass
Duration 15 min
Commissioned by Dextra Musica, for the celebration of legendary virtuoso violinist Ole Bull.
Premiere June 2, 2010, Grieghallen, Bergen





The string orchestra is organized in sections: 2 string quartets on each side, in the middle a row of 8 violinists standing and in front, 5 celli and 1 double bass.

On the premiere, an impressive line-up of string players were performing:
Oslo String Quartet, Vertavo String Quartet - Violin: Henning Kraggerud, Elise Båtnes, Guro Kleven Hagen, Atle Sponberg, Stephan Barratt-Due, Ragnhild Hemsing, Eldbjørg Hemsing, Anders Nilsson - - Cello: Øystein Birkeland, Ernst Simon Glaser, Frida Fredrikke Waaler Wærvågen, Sandra Lied Haga, Ole Eirik Ree - Bass: Dan Styffe. Conductor: Rolf Gupta.

Read: Concerto Grosso / Notater om verket (extensive program notes in Norwegian)